School choice is insanity.

I understand that many districts in Massachusetts  do not assign schools based upon address and I understand the social reasons why.  However,  if you are going to have school choice, you need to be able to do so in a timely manner.   Yes, I know I didn’t register until July but that was because I didn’t move here until July.   Registrations in July must be down to a trickle and by then, you should be able to do them on the fly.
Today, I was informed that my son would not receive his school assignment until the week before school starts because they haven’t done the July registrations yet. Unfreakingbelievable.

 

I have a job offer… I think.  But I can’t accept it unless I can work out arrangements for my children and that means before/after school care for my oldest if I work.   How can I do that if I don’t know what school he will be attending?

 

This is insane.  Just insane.  I am so frustrated I could cry.

2 responses to “School choice is insanity.

  1. Deary me, and I thought it was complicated here.

    Actually, I really should do something about schools myself. Someday. Maybe next year. Possibly. Absolutely before two years. Right?

    G

Leave a Reply

